If there was a formula for hours spent studying versus brains in your head I’m sure I’d have a mellon like… well, like a mellon. Maybe it just seems that way. My life didn’t follow the “normal” progression. I guess it’s the same for many young South Africans. We got confused with all the possibilities, like my darling wife at our local ice-cream shop (“Ag-en-nee-daar’s-te-veel-flavours!”)

It’s a little dizzying to think about it. I matriculated from Piet Retief High in 2000. Went to Cape Town in 2001 to do a Decipleship Training School (kinda like a missions gap year). Spent about a year in 2002 in Joburg working in the stock room of a gem wholesaler to earn some money. Went to Denver to do a School of Worship and spent some time with family in Atlanta in 2003. Came back in the same year and started studying theology. Re-met my beautiful wife and started dating her. Started working at a drug rehab as an in-house counsellor in 2004. Worked there for about a year. In 2005 I Started studying teaching and working as a student-teacher and sports administrator and facilitating worship for my local church in 2005 and married the love of my life, Leane! Since then it’s been a bit of a blur of backrubs and late night studies.

I think that means I’ve been studying theology for 5 years and teaching for 3. That’s eight years of graft… doesn’t that make me a doctor or something? Guess not… next year I do my bachelor’s thesis to finally earn my honours in theology. Two more years (and a bit) of teaching and I’ll be done with that. Then the masters (I’m a sucker for punishment).

All this has taught me one thing: A love of learning doesn’t translate into a love of studying! Too bad.

